Ashley Johnson has been cited for this challenge on Leinster’s Dave Kearney

EPCR HAVE CONFIRMED that Wasps back row Ashley Johnson has been cited for a dangerous tackle on Dave Kearney in Saturday’s 20-20 draw between the sides at the Ricoh Arena.

Johnson is alleged to have committed the dangerous tackle on the Leinster wing in the opening minute of the game, and the citing comes under law Law 10.4(i).

The Wasps flanker did receive a yellow card from referee Jérôme Garcès for the challenge, but the citing has been made by the match citing commissioner, Alberto Recaldini of Italy.

Under World Rugby’s sanctions for foul play, a low-end suspension for tackling a player in the air comes with an entry point of three weeks. The mid-range entry point is six weeks, while the top-end is from 12 to 52 weeks.

Welshman Simon Thomas has been appointed the independent judicial officer for the hearing, which will take place in Dublin on Thursday.

Kearney [right] did not take part in Ireland training today. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Speaking after the clash with Wasps, Leinster head coach Matt O’Connor indicated that Kearney could be sidelined for “several weeks” with the shoulder injury he sustained in the challenge.

An Ireland injury update yesterday, less than two weeks out from the Six Nations opener against Italy, indicated that Kearney is being monitored this week.

Originally published at 15.02

Sexton ‘fit and fresh’ to face France after 3 months out, Murray still awaiting neck scanIn pictures: Ireland’s Six Nations hopefuls step up preparations at Carton House