On this day in pro wrestling history: Rogers beats Gomez, Gordman & Goliath, Baba loses PWF title, Flair vs. Kerry, Lawler vs. son, Taker vs. Edge

by Brian Hoops

1939 – In Kansas City, Kansas; Prospector Pete beat Steve Brody 2 out of 3 falls, Walter Sirois beat Stanley
Buresch, Ede Edner (Ebner) beat Don George and Mike Chacoma beat Dale Wayne. (promoter:  George D. Simpson)

1945 – Bobby Bonales defeated El Santo to win the Mexican National
Middleweight Title

1945 – In Wichita, Kansas; Lord Albert Mills defeated Ray Eckert in 2 out of 3 falls to earn a match next week with Orville Brown. Also, Lee Wykoff beat Jim Parker, Jack Hader beat Bob Hayford and Gene Blakely defeated Pat O’Dowdy.

Click Here: cheap nsw blues jersey

1948 – Sandor Szabo wins the Minneapolis World Heavyweight Title
defeating Bronko Nagurski in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

1948 – The Green Shadow defeated Herb Welch for the Tennessee World
Junior Heavyweight Title in Nashville, Tennessee

1950 – At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; NWA World Heavyweight Champion Lou Thesz defeated Bill Longson 2 falls to 0, Sonny Myers beat Lee Henning 2 out of 3 falls, also Dutch Hefner beat Pete Peterson.

1956 – Buddy Rogers defeated Pepper Gomez for the NWA Texas Heavyweight
Title in Houston, Texas.

1957 – In Kansas City, Kansas; For the Central States Title, Bobby Bruns went to a time limit draw with Richard Brown, Mike Clancy beat Angelo Savoldi and Wild Red Berry beat Joe Costello

1960 – Édouard Carpentier and Sandor Szabo defeated Art Michalik and
Legs Wilson in Los Angeles, California to win the NWA International TV
Tag Team Title.

1962 – Jack Donovan and Jackie Fargo defeated The Mysterious Medics for
the Gulf Coast NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Dothan, Alabama

1966 – René Goulet and Pepper Martin defeated Tony Borne and Prof. Hiro
to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1968 – In Chicago, Illinois; AWA Tag Team Champions Mitsu Arakawa & Dr Moto beat Dick the Bruiser & The Crusher,
Dr X beat Mighty Igor Vodik via dq, Bill Watts drew Larry Hennig and Rene Goulet beat Harley Race.

1971 – Brian Maxine defeated Clayton Thomson in Croydon, England for the
British Middleweight Title

1972 – At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; Omar Atlas fought Roger Kirby to a draw, Black Angus (w/ Percival A. Friend) defeated The Viking and Harley Race defeated Rufus R. Jones

1973 – The Samoans (Tio Tio and Reno Tufuuli) defeated Mike Graham and
Kevin Sullivan to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title in St. Petersburg,

1973 – Bull Ramos and Clay Spencer (Ken Mantell) defeated Steven Little
Bear and Dutch Savage for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title.

1973 – Black Gordman and Goliath defeated Rey Mendoza and Raul Reyes to
win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title

1974 – Jim Dalton and Bruce Swayze defeated Carlos Colón and José Manuel
Pérez for the WWC North American Tag Team Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico.

1975 – Bobby Hart and Larry O’Day defeated The Missouri Mauler and Steve
Rackman to win the NWA Austra-Asian Tag Team Title in Sydney, Australia.

1975 – Tauro defeated Dardo Aguilar for the Mexican National Lightweight
Title in Mexico City, Mexico

1975 – In Milwaukee, Wisconsin; AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Verne Gagne & Billy Robinson via dq. Also, Dusty Rhodes beat Baron Von Raschke dq, Ivan Putski beat Boris Breznikoff and Greg Gagne beat Rene Goulet.

1976 – Jim Breaks defeated Bobby Ryan to win the British Lightweight
Title in Wolverhampton, England

1978 – Tor Kamata defeated Giant Baba for the AJPW PWF Heavyweight Title
in Akita, Japan.

1979 – Ron Garvin won the NWA Southeastern Heavyweight Title, defeating
Alex Smirnoff in Knoxville, Tennessee.

1979 – El Halcón defeated José Lothario defeat Mark Lewin and The
Spoiler to win the NWA American Tag Team Title in Houston, Texas.

1979 – At the Omaha, Nebraska Civic Center; Greg Gagne (sub Verne Gagne) & Mad Dog Vachon beat Pat Patterson & Nick Bockwinkel,
Bobby Duncum beat Doug Gilbert, In a Posedown, Paul Ellering beat Jesse Ventura and Super Destroyer Mark II (Sgt. Slaughter) beat Joe Scarpello.

1981 – Bill Dundee defeated Stan Lane for the Mid-America NWA United
States Junior Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1981 – Jimmy Golden defeated Ken Lucas to win the NWA Southeastern
Heavyweight Title in Birmingham, Alabama.

1983 – Lioness Asuka won the AJW Singles Title from Kaoru Matsumoto in
Omiya, Japan. At the same event, Jaguar Yokota defeated La Galactica for
the WWWA World Singles Title

1984 – In St. Louis, Missouri; NWA Champion Ric Flair went to a time limit draw with Kerry Von Erich, Blackjack Lanza & Blackjack Mulligan beat Jerry Blackwell & Sheik Adnan, Wahoo McDaniel beat Kamala via dq and Jim Duggan beat Luke Graham.

1985 – Black Bart defeated Ron Garvin to win the NWA National
Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

1985 – Invader III defeated Denny Brown for the vacant WWC World Junior
Heavyweight Title

1986 – Marty Jannetty defeated The Shadow (Jaymie Knight) to win the NWA
Central States Heavyweight Title in Marshalltown, Iowa

1987 – Jeff Jarrett won the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title from
Moondog Spot in Memphis, Tennessee

1990 – Kerry Von Erich defeated Matt Borne in Dallas, Texas to win the
NWA Texas Heavyweight Title

1990 – El Dandy defeated Angel Azteca in Mexico City, Mexico for the NWA
World Middleweight Title

1991 – TNT (Savio Vega) defeated King Kong to win the WWC Television
Title in Bayamón, Puerto Rico

1991 – The Billion Dollar Babies (Mike Samson and G.Q. Stratus) defeated
G.Q. and T.D. Madison (Tommy Dreamer) for the IWCCW Tag Team Title in
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire.

1995 – Latin Lover and Panterita del Ring defeated Fuerza and Juventud
Guerrera to win the Mexican National Tag Team Title in Texcoco, Mexico.

1996 – Pitbull #2 defeated ECW World Television Champion Shane Douglas
to win the title in Philadelphia, PA.

1996 – Brian Christopher defeated Jerry Lawler to win the USWA
Heavyweight Titles in Memphis,Tennessee

1996 – Caveman Broda defeated Bobby Collins for the Canadian Wrestling
Federation Light Heavyweight Title in Dugald, Manitoba.

2007 – At the OVW Summer Sizzler Series event in Louisville, Kentucky; ODB defeated OVW Women’s Champion Katie Lea to win the title, also Jay Bradley defeated Paul Birchill and Idol Stevens in a three-way match to win the vacant OVW Heavyweight Title.

2008 – Edge defeated the Undertaker in a Tables, Ladders & Chairs match
for the vacant World Heavyweight Championship